It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:52 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:31 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Everything seemed to assemble ok and everything else works except that Repetier isn't showing the bed temperature and manually turning the heater bed on doesn't heat the bed up. I can't see anything in the options for Repetier or Slicer that could enable or disable the presence of the bed. It seems to connect ok with no errors.

Quote:
20:19:29.419 : FIRMWARE_NAME:Marlin V1; Sprinter/grbl mashup FIRMWARE_URL:http://www.K8200.eu - http://www.velleman.eu PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:K8200 - 3D PRINTER EXTRUDER_COUNT:1
20:19:29.419 : echo:Active Extruder: 0
20:19:29.419 : N7 M220 S100 *70
20:19:29.419 : N8 M221 S100 *72
20:19:29.419 : N9 M111 S6 *78
20:19:29.449 : N10 M105 *54
20:19:32.499 : N11 M105 *55
20:19:35.559 : N12 M105 *52
20:19:36.859 : N13 M140 S50 *66
20:19:38.619 : N14 M105 *50
20:19:41.679 : N15 M105 *51
20:19:44.729 : N16 M105 *48
20:19:47.789 : N17 M105 *49
20:19:50.849 : N18 M105 *62
20:19:53.909 : N19 M105 *63
20:19:56.959 : N20 M105 *53
20:20:00.019 : N21 M105 *52
20:20:03.079 : N22 M105 *55
20:20:06.139 : N23 M105 *54
20:20:08.529 : N24 M503 *51
20:20:08.569 : echo:Steps per unit:
20:20:08.579 : echo: M92 X64.25 Y64.25 Z2560.00 E600.00
20:20:08.579 : echo:Maximum feedrates (mm/s):
20:20:08.579 : echo: M203 X500.00 Y500.00 Z50.00 E500.00
20:20:08.579 : echo:Maximum Acceleration (mm/s2):
20:20:08.579 : echo: M201 X9000 Y9000 Z100 E10000
20:20:08.579 : echo:Acceleration: S=acceleration, T=retract acceleration
20:20:08.579 : echo: M204 S1000.00 T1000.00
20:20:08.579 : echo:Advanced variables: S=Min feedrate (mm/s), T=Min travel feedrate (mm/s), B=minimum segment time (ms), X=maximum xY jerk (mm/s), Z=maximum Z jerk (mm/s)
20:20:08.579 : echo: M205 S0.00 T0.00 B20000 X20.00 Z0.40 E5.00
20:20:08.579 : echo:Home offset (mm):
20:20:08.579 : echo: M206 X0.00 Y0.00 Z0.00
20:20:08.579 : echo:PID settings:
20:20:08.579 : echo: M301 P63.00 I2.25 D440.00


Screenshots from Repetier...
http://home.unh.co.nz/files/no_heater_bed_temp.png <-- in example shots the bed temp was shown next to the extruder temp
http://home.unh.co.nz/files/0_temp_bed_on.png <-- I also checked the bed with a thermometer, it doesn't heat up and no voltage appears across the heater connections either

I just have the basic k8200 with no extras so my understanding is the firmware version should be fine. I measured the thermistor and it was 674k at room temperature which is higher than the 100k I believe it should be. It does change value if I heat the bed manually with a hairdryer. I also tried unplugging the thermistor connection from the controller board and replacing it with a normal 100k resistor, but Repetier still doesn't register that there is a heated bed present.

I'm starting to think the board might be faulty. Any advice on steps to take now?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:24 am
Posts: 3431
Location: USA
0C indicates that there is an open for the bed thermistor.
Unplug therm2 and check for resistance on the cable (not the board)
at room temp you should see around 100K ohms


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:10 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Yup, I disconnected the thermistor cable from the board and measured the resistance from the cable ends. I got 674k. I have also connected an actual 100k resistor to the connector on the board and it still says 0 degrees with no bed temperature showing in the bottom of the window. It's like it doesn't think it has a heated bed at all.

Even if the thermistor was faulty, I'd have thought the board should heat up when I turn it on manually in Repetier, which it doesn't. :/


Cheers,
grist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:56 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Update:

The bed heats up if I connect it to my programmable power supply.

Also, I understand the board is basically an ATMega2560 at its core. I have been programming Arduinos for a few years, so I understand I should be able to flash my own code to it and see if the chip itself is getting readings from that ADC and then flash your code back in afterwards?

If so they I can do some more diagnostics for you from this end. Please let me know if this is ok.


Cheers,
grist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:46 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Hello?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:24 am
Posts: 3431
Location: USA
Hi,

What version of Repetier do you have.
You can download the one that is configured for the K8200 from this link.
http://www.k8200.eu/downloads/files/downloads/setup_repetierhost_k8200_0_95f.zip
This is a good starting point.
674K ohms is to high for the thermistor.
This would make me think that the thermistor was damaged when you soldered in on the bed.
Try measuring across the thermistor to see if you can track the problem down.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:39 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Hi,

I can confirm that is the version I downloaded, screenshotted here for proof...

http://home.unh.co.nz/files/Repetier_version.png

I accept that the thermistor may be damaged, but that's not the problem. If that was all, then Repetier would display a temperature, albeit wrong, and would allow me to control the heated bed. It does not.

Quote:
Try measuring across the thermistor to see if you can track the problem down

I appreciate the help you're giving, but I have already answered this. Can you please have a good read of my other replies where I have noted this detail and also other steps I have taken to diagnose the problem.


Regards,
grist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:24 am
Posts: 3431
Location: USA
Ok.
You have 2 problems
The control card sounds as if it has an issue and the resistance for the thermistor is to high.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:56 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
That's what I figured too. I'm happy to accept I may have damaged the thermistor. I'm not used to dealing with SMD and it's a bit fiddly. I don't see how I could have damaged the board though, I'm used to dealing with Arduinos and the like and used the same precautions with it.

Should I go back to where I bought it for warranty replacement?


Cheers,
grist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:18 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Hello?

A suggestion I had from another forum was that I might have the wrong firmware loaded. The instructions said to check for updates so I did and applied the one in a file called firmware_k8200_v2.1.1.zip.

Could this be the problem? Can you link to the firmware I should be running?


Regards
grist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:40 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:24 am
Posts: 3431
Location: USA
If you changed the firmware or if you are going to reload it you need to use Arduino software 1.0.6 or lower.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:39 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
That was not my question. Can you please confirm if I loaded the correct version...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:24 am
Posts: 3431
Location: USA
This depends if you have the K8204 on your machine.
All downloads for the K8200 can be found in this link.
http://www.k8200.eu/support/downloads/
You will need to match the description with what you have on your machine.
All versions have the heated bed on them.
When loading the firmware use Arduino software 1.0.6 or lower.
If you used something higher that very well could be the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 8:59 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Ok, I downgraded my Arduino software to 1.0.6 and uploaded the v1 firmware. I can see in the bootup that this is the loaded version but it still doesn't work. I do not have the 8204 kit.

I see when I manually turn on the extruder heater or the fan that an indicator light lights up on the controller board. This doesn't happen for the heated bed.

How do I get the board replaced?


Cheers,
grist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 11:35 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am
Posts: 16
Hello?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group