It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:58 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:50 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:32 am
Posts: 6
Hi all,

I bought a VR 408 two weeks ago, the assembly with my kids was great, but the first tests...very disappointing. The robot seems to have not enough energy to move on his own. So I bought new, expensive batteries (duracell). But even with these fresh and top quality batteries, our VR408 can't move a leg without being plug with the USB wire on a computer (to provide energy). Do you have any solution, please? Should I send my Allbot to your post sales department?

Simatt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 11:19 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Genth, Belgium
Simatt wrote:
Hi all,

I bought a VR 408 two weeks ago, the assembly with my kids was great, but the first tests...very disappointing. The robot seems to have not enough energy to move on his own. So I bought new, expensive batteries (duracell). But even with these fresh and top quality batteries, our VR408 can't move a leg without being plug with the USB wire on a computer (to provide energy). Do you have any solution, please? Should I send my Allbot to your post sales department?

Simatt


Strange, I thought power for Servo was only drawn from battery pack (which itself can be powered by batteries or 5V wire).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:35 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:32 am
Posts: 6
Hi again

to be more precise, here is what happens when I use my VR 408 on battery and without USB wire: Our robot is working fine when I hold it in my hand, but as soon as I put it on the floor, it begins to bug. It seems that it doesn't have enough energy to stand up and it seems to try to restart again and again without any success. But if I plug the USB, it starts to move correctly.

But of course, I don't want to keep my robot on a lead. It's very disappointing, especially for my sons who are discovering Arduino with this device. Could you help me please?

Simatt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:24 am
Posts: 3385
Location: USA
Crazy question but I will ask anyway.
Have you tried fresh batteries?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:38 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Genth, Belgium
Simatt wrote:
Hi again

to be more precise, here is what happens when I use my VR 408 on battery and without USB wire: Our robot is working fine when I hold it in my hand, but as soon as I put it on the floor, it begins to bug. It seems that it doesn't have enough energy to stand up and it seems to try to restart again and again without any success. But if I plug the USB, it starts to move correctly.

But of course, I don't want to keep my robot on a lead. It's very disappointing, especially for my sons who are discovering Arduino with this device. Could you help me please?

Simatt


Sounds similar to this problem: http://forum.velleman.eu/viewtopic.php?f=71&t=18106


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:32 am
Posts: 6
My batteries have a powercheck tester, so I'm sure they are full. I agree with Tobias V, my problem sounds similar as

viewtopic.php?f=71&t=18106

I had read this post before I sent my question, that's why I've bought Duracell batteries (I had tried with other AA batteries first). But my robot is still too weak to stand up on the floor.

Simatt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 4:01 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Genth, Belgium
Simatt wrote:
My batteries have a powercheck tester, so I'm sure they are full. I agree with Tobias V, my problem sounds similar as

viewtopic.php?f=71&t=18106

I had read this post before I sent my question, that's why I've bought Duracell batteries (I had tried with other AA batteries first). But my robot is still too weak to stand up on the floor.

Simatt


There is another topic which claimed Duracell batteries might not suffice either.
http://forum.velleman.eu/viewtopic.php?f=71&t=17960&hilit=duracell


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 4:24 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:32 am
Posts: 6
I'll check another kind/brand of batteries. Do you know which ones I should try?

I let you know if my test with other batteries have results.

Simatt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:02 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:32 am
Posts: 6
Good news: I've tried rechargeable batteries (with a low current 1900 mA) and my robot runs as a spider. Thank you for your help, and definitively, forget the Duracell batteries for your Allbot.

All the best,

Simatt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:56 am 
Offline
User avatar
Velleman Support
Velleman Support

Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:22 pm
Posts: 677
We are releasing a more powerful li-ion battery shield shortly!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:55 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Genth, Belgium
Will it support on device charging?

Note: I'm using GP 2600mAh rechargeable batteries, they work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:32 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:32 am
Posts: 6
Hi,

You should try another kind of batteries. I had exactly the same problem with Duracell batteries. I can't say what are the good specifications, you should try different brand or amperage.

Simatt


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group